“Deer practice”

Once upon a time someone told me that when deer stand still in the road at night they are fixated on your headlights.  If you can shut your lights off for a split second it breaks their attention and they can get out of your way.  For years I had “deer practice”, turning off my headlights and turning them back on when I wasn’t stressed in the hopes that someday when I needed that “skill” it would come automatically.

Some years later I was driving home on route 495 in Massachusetts late at night when I saw headlights in front of me. Route 495 is a divided highway; there aren’t supposed to be lights in my lane.  I realized that someone was driving the wrong way.  I switched lanes and they came right along with me.  Because of my “deer practice” I realized that he too was fixated on my lights.  I shut off my lights, changed lanes, and he passed on my left going at least 55 mph the wrong direction.  Thank God the car behind me saw what I did and did the same thing.  He then turned on his blues, pulled a U-turn and chased the guy down.

“Deer practice” probably saved my life.  Maybe telling my story can save another.

About NEKate

I fancy myself an Environmental Educator who has happened to work in too many other fields to be able to work in the one of my choosing. Polly, Mattie (my dogs) and I love exploring which I share with others through Photography.
This entry was posted in Adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment