Owl Marsh

owls 4-22-11 30Recently I purchased a “real” GPS, one that I can use for bushwhacking and geocaching. I got a great deal on a Garmin etrex Venture HC complete with US topo maps. Last Friday I hiked into the owl marsh using my normal route, tracking and marking it using the GPS. Last year I orienteered it using map and compass but ended at a point to the East. Today I used the GPS coordinates to travel cross country and ended up at Owl Rock. Today I planned a little better and avoided mountain tops but still recognized some of the same areas I had map-hiked last year.

Last Friday I spooked an owl and saw it fly off as I arrived but saw no sign of activity in the nest. Today I sat on the rock for 15 minutes without any sign of owls before I decided to take pictures of the heron nests. I was amazed to find one of the nests commandeered by the owls. I cannot photo shoot the new nest from up high but still think I should be able to get some great shots, especially with my new dSLR camera.

As I headed out today I found fiddlehead ferns starting to come up, I found a pile of turkey feathers of all kinds but no blood or meat left, I found hooded mergansers and wood ducks on the water and warblers in the trees and I got a decent photo of a yellow-rump. On my way back I spooked a doe and arrived at my house to find a tom turkey displaying in my side yard. I will need to practice with manual focus in the camera to be able to shoot through tree branches – no photos of the courting display. I’m always excited by the owls but also love the discovery of the journey.

About NEKate

I fancy myself an Environmental Educator who has happened to work in too many other fields to be able to work in the one of my choosing. Polly, Mattie (my dogs) and I love exploring which I share with others through Photography.
This entry was posted in Critters and Creation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment